General Information/DiscussionsThank you, Comcast.

General Info for everyone
User avatar

Topic author
gonzosquirrel
Posts: 273
Joined: February 2012
Contact:
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:06 am

So after a complete loss of internet last night while in the middle of some awesome Meatgrinder gaming...things got better in the internet department at my house.

Apparently the Comcast elves were busy during that 90 minute outtage.
Home (Northern VA)
Image

Chicago
Image

New York
Image

Los Angeles
Image

Dallas
Image

Ping to D.C.
Image


Zenbob
Posts: 531
Joined: February 2006
Contact:
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:59 pm

Holy crap, I'm not getting anywhere near that speed. I should check if the modem they gave me is even DOCSIS 3.0. I really miss FIOS.

ZB
Image
~~ Find me on Origin - user name Zenbob ~~
Image

User avatar

Flipper
Member
Posts: 5934
Joined: October 2008
Contact:
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:46 pm

.
Attachments
speed.PNG
speed.PNG (45.93 KiB) Viewed 806 times
speed.PNG
speed.PNG (45.93 KiB) Viewed 806 times


MissileChicago
Posts: 11308
Joined: June 2007
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:59 pm

Too embarassed to post mine. Probably never will.

Image


SiouxWarrior
Posts: 2001
Joined: October 2007
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:20 pm

Image
Image

Not too shabby for South Dakota!
Image


Zenbob
Posts: 531
Joined: February 2006
Contact:
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:00 pm

I just checked with Comcast, and I can go from "Performance" 20Mb, to "Blast!" 30Mb for about $10 a month more. Which is about $58 or $59 a month in my area. Because we watch lots of Netflix, it might be worth having that extra speed, even though it wouldn't likely affect my latency.

Any sage advice before I bend over for a bigger bill? Maybe I should check with the local office and attempt to re-negotiate my Internet/Cable bundle?

ZB
Image
~~ Find me on Origin - user name Zenbob ~~
Image

User avatar

KungfuBeer
Member
Posts: 15515
Joined: November 2006
Contact:
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:35 pm

Woohoo, get the ice for these flames!!

Image
Image


SiouxWarrior
Posts: 2001
Joined: October 2007
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:51 pm

Is that the 56K flex modem ya got there?

KungfuBeer wrote:Woohoo, get the ice for these flames!!

Image
Image

User avatar

Flipper
Member
Posts: 5934
Joined: October 2008
Contact:
Status: Offline

Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:53 pm

I ran on 8/mb down and 1/mb up for a couple of years until recently. No issues unless the wife was uploading pics.

User avatar

KungfuBeer
Member
Posts: 15515
Joined: November 2006
Contact:
Status: Offline

Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 am

The warden for my area is AT&T and I refuse to change to U-Verse. I have Time Warner cable internet which is acceptable. I used to be close to the top of the spectrum, but it appears now that I may have a great excuse for my poor gameplay :ROFL:
Image

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests